Australian Independent Bookseller

All the best books from your local independent bookseller

A Gambling Man

A Gambling Man

by David Baldacci

Evoking the golden age of crime and for fans of Raymond Chandler and Agatha Christie, comes A Gambling Man from one of the world's bestselling thriller writers, David Baldacci.

Format
PB
Category
Fiction
Publisher
Macmillan Publishers
Publish Date
March 2021

It is nearly 1950 and Aloysius Archer is on his way to Bay Town, California to take up a post with renowned gumshoe, Willie Dash. Making an overnight stop in Reno he gets lucky at the casino, meets a talented actor named Liberty Callahan with her sights set on Hollywood, and helps out a man threatened by mobsters for a bad debt. With a magnificent Delahaye motor as his repayment, Archer goes west with Liberty to seek work, fame and fortune. The journey is dangerous and full of surprises as Liberty shows her steel and reveals she has a past as dark as Archer's. In Bay Town, Willie Dash is tasked with finding out who is doing everything in their power to prevent his client, politician Douglas Kemper, from being mayor. As Archer and Dash dig deeper, they discover a town full of secrets and strange events. When two seemingly unrelated murders occur at Midnight Moods, a local burlesque club owned by local scion, Sawyer Armstrong, Archer and Dash must dig deep to find a connection between the killings. To prove himself in his first case as a PI, Archer will need all of his skills to decipher the truth from the lies, the good from the evil and the relevance of the mysterious happenings offshore he saw during a late night boat ride in the Pacific. While Liberty, in a final perilous showdown, shows that she's a true star in the making.

Other titles you should consider ...

Silverview

John le Carré

The Judge's List

John Grisham

Scary Monsters

Michelle de Kretser

Oh William!

Elizabeth Strout

Not all products are available in all stores.