Australian Independent Bookseller

All the best books from your local independent bookseller

News & Features

Australian independent booksellers, members of Leading Edge Books, are thrilled to announce their Longlist for the Indie Book Awards 2018!

Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders is named winner of the 2017 Man Booker Prize for Fiction. Lincoln in the Bardo is the first full-length novel from George Saunders, internationally renowned short story writer.

Australian Independent Booksellers, members of Leading Edge Books, are currently submitting their nominations for their favourite Australian books for 2017.

Josephine Wilson’s Extinctions wins 2017 Miles Franklin Literary Award

Make a date with a book.

Thursday September 14 2017

Pick up a book and read for just one hour on your own or with your children.

Indigenous Literacy Day is a national celebration of Indigenous culture, stories, language and literacy. Through activities on the day, the ILF focus their attention on the disadvantages experienced in remote communities and encourage the rest of Australia to raise funds and advocate for more equal access to literacy resources for remote communities.

Penguin Random House Australia announces the establishment of the inaugural Penguin Random House Australia Literary Prize.

Celebrate everything we love about Bookshops

2017 Miles Franklin Award Shortlist Announced

The winner of the 2017 Stella Prize is Heather Rose for her novel The Museum of Modern Love.

Australian Independent Booksellers are thrilled to announce The Dry by Jane Harper as their favourite Australian book from last year and the winner of The Indie Book Awards 2017 Book of the Year.

The Indie Book Awards celebrate the best of Australian writing as chosen by independent booksellers, members of Leading Edge Books, and the role indie booksellers play in supporting Australian writers and publishing.

Congratulations to all Shortlisted authors and their publishers!

We look forward to the announcement of the Indie Books Awards Book of the Year and Category Winners at the Leading Edge Books Conference on 20th March.

Australian independent booksellers, members of Leading Edge Books, are proud to announce the Longlist for The Indie Book Awards 2017.

Author Paul Beatty wins The 2016 Man Booker Prize for The Sellout, a satire of US racial politics, making him the first American writer to win award.

Paul Beatty, Deborah Levy, Graeme Macrae Burnet, Ottessa Moshfegh, David Szalay and Madeleine Thien are announced as the six shortlisted authors for the 2016 Man Booker Prize for Fiction.




Saturday 13th of August 2016 - All Day

Phone - 03 9859 7322

Event address - At participating bookshops nationally

National Bookshop Day promotes local bookshops - #LoveYourBook

The longlist, or ‘Man Booker Dozen’, for the £50,000 Man Booker Prize is announced was announced on 27th July.

The shortlist for the 2016 Miles Franklin Literary Award has been announced at the Australian Booksellers Association Conference in Canberra.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • Hope Farm (Peggy Frew, Scribe)
  • Leap (Myfanwy Jones, A&U)
  • Black Rock White City (A S Patric