Australian Independent Bookseller

All the best books from your local independent bookseller

News & Features

Paul Beatty, Deborah Levy, Graeme Macrae Burnet, Ottessa Moshfegh, David Szalay and Madeleine Thien are announced as the six shortlisted authors for the 2016 Man Booker Prize for Fiction.




Saturday 13th of August 2016 - All Day

Phone - 03 9859 7322

Event address - At participating bookshops nationally

National Bookshop Day promotes local bookshops - #LoveYourBook

The longlist, or ‘Man Booker Dozen’, for the £50,000 Man Booker Prize is announced was announced on 27th July.

The shortlist for the 2016 Miles Franklin Literary Award has been announced at the Australian Booksellers Association Conference in Canberra.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • Hope Farm (Peggy Frew, Scribe)
  • Leap (Myfanwy Jones, A&U)
  • Black Rock White City (A S Patric

Awards were presented at this year’s Leading Edge Books Conference in Canberra on 28 May. In a night celebrating the excellence in Independent Bookselling held at the National Museum of Australia, awards were presented for Publisher of the Year, an award vot

The 2016 ABIA Awards were held in Sydney last night. The awards celebrate the connection between Australian readers and the ‘book makers’ – authors, editors, publishing professionals and retailers, who unite to create the must-read books of the year.


The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood (Allen & Unwin) has won the 2016 Stella Prize for women’s writing.

Charlotte Wood was presented with the $50,000 prize at an awards ceremony in Sydney on 19 April. She was chosen from a shortlist of six that


Tonight in Sydney, Australian Independent Booksellers, announced The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood as their favourite Australian book from last year and the winner of The Indie Book Awards 2016 Book of the Year.

The individual category winners in Fi


The Stella Prize has announced the six extraordinary books on the 2016 Stella Prize shortlist.

From more than 170 entries, this year’s Stella Prize judges – author and academic Brenda Walker (chair); writer and social commentator Emily Maguire; award-wi

The Stella Prize has announced the 2016 Stella Prize longlist.


The Stella Prize celebrates Australian women’s contribution to literature. It was awarded for the first time in 2013 to Carrie Tiffany for Mateship with Birds. In 2014, the winner


Australian Independent Booksellers are pleased to announce the Shortlist for The Indie Book Awards 2016. Independent booksellers of Australia, affectionately termed ‘indies’, have a proud reputation for choosing the best in Australian writing, with man

Australian Independent Booksellers of Australia have announced the Longlist for The Indie Book Awards 2016.

Stephanie Bishop has been named the winner of this year’s Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction for her novel, The Other Side of the World.

A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James has been named as the winner of the 2015 Man Booker Prize for Fiction.

Marlon James, Tom McCarthy, Chigozie Obioma, Sunjeev Sahota, Anne Tyler and Hanya Yanagihara have been announced as the shortlisted authors for the 2015 Man Booker Prize for Fiction.

On Indigenous Literacy Day, Wednesday 2nd September, help improve the literacy levels of Indigenous Australians living in some of the most remote and isolated communities around the country.

Readings has announced the titles shortlisted for their New Australian Fiction Prize in 2015.

The Australian Crime Writers Association announced the winners of the 2015 Ned Kelly Awards honouring the best in crime fiction and true crime writing.