Australian Independent Bookseller

All the best books from your local independent bookseller

News & Features

The Stella Prize has announced the 2016 Stella Prize longlist.


The Stella Prize celebrates Australian women’s contribution to literature. It was awarded for the first time in 2013 to Carrie Tiffany for Mateship with Birds. In 2014, the winner


Australian Independent Booksellers are pleased to announce the Shortlist for The Indie Book Awards 2016. Independent booksellers of Australia, affectionately termed ‘indies’, have a proud reputation for choosing the best in Australian writing, with man

Australian Independent Booksellers of Australia have announced the Longlist for The Indie Book Awards 2016.

Stephanie Bishop has been named the winner of this year’s Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction for her novel, The Other Side of the World.

A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James has been named as the winner of the 2015 Man Booker Prize for Fiction.

Marlon James, Tom McCarthy, Chigozie Obioma, Sunjeev Sahota, Anne Tyler and Hanya Yanagihara have been announced as the shortlisted authors for the 2015 Man Booker Prize for Fiction.

On Indigenous Literacy Day, Wednesday 2nd September, help improve the literacy levels of Indigenous Australians living in some of the most remote and isolated communities around the country.

Readings has announced the titles shortlisted for their New Australian Fiction Prize in 2015.

The Australian Crime Writers Association announced the winners of the 2015 Ned Kelly Awards honouring the best in crime fiction and true crime writing.

This year’s list of CBCA Winners and Honour Books in each category

The Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA) has announced the shortlists for this year’s Ned Kelly Awards for crime writing.



Bill Clegg, Anne Enright, Marlon James, Laila Lalami, Tom McCarthy, Chigozie Obioma, Andrew O'Hagan, Marilynne Robinson, Anuradha Roy, Sunjeev Sahota, Anna Smaill, Anne Tyler and Hanya Yanagihara are this year's Man Booker "Dozen",

JAMES PATTERSON donates $100,000 to bookshops to get kids reading

SL big

Sofie Laguna has won the 2015 Miles Franklin Literary Award for her novel The Eye of the Sheep (A&U).

Laguna’s novel was chosen from a shortlist of five, which included: Golden Boys (Sonya Hartnett, Hamish Hamilton), The Gold


Fantastic to see Indie Book Awards 2015 Fiction Winner – Sonya Hartnett – and Shortlisted Debut Author Christine Piper in this year’s strong SHORTLIST. A top up offer for the titles on the Shortlist has been opened on the Extranet.

From Books+Publishing D