Australian Independent Bookseller

All the best books from your local independent bookseller

Under A Pole Star

Under A Pole Star

by Stef Penney

An epic historical novel from the author of the Costa-winning THE TENDERNESS OF WOLVES, for fans of Victoria Hislop and Jessie Burton.

Format
Paperback
Category
Fiction
Publisher
Hachette
Publish Date
November 2016

Flora Mackie was twelve when she first crossed the Arctic Circle on her father's whaling ship. Now she is returning to the frozen seas as the head of her own exploration expedition. Jakob de Beyn was raised in Manhattan, but his yearning for new horizons leads him to the Arctic as part of a rival expedition. But when he and Flora meet, all thoughts of science and exploration give way before a sudden, all-consuming love. The affair survives the growing tensions between the two groups, but then, after one more glorious summer on the Greenland coast, Jakob joins his leader on an extended trip into the interior. Neither of them ever return. The stark beauty of the Arctic ocean, where the pack ice can crush a ship like an eggshell, and the empty sweep of the tundra, alternately a snow-muffled wasteland and an unexpectedly gentle meadow, are vividly evoked. Against this backdrop Penney weaves an irresistible love story, a compelling look at the dark side of the golden age of exploration, and a mystery that Flora, returning one last time to the North Pole as an old woman, will finally lay to rest.

Other titles you should consider ...

A Long Petal of the Sea

Isabel Allende

Deep State

Chris Hauty

Such a Fun Age

Kiley Reid

Not all products are available in all stores.