Australian Independent Bookseller

All the best books from your local independent bookseller

The Cautious Traveller's Guide to The Wastelands

The Cautious Traveller's Guide to The Wastelands

by Sarah Brooks

Be transported by the most exciting debut of 2024

Format
Paperback
Category
Fiction
Publisher
Hachette
Publish Date
June 2024

A breathtaking historical fantasy set onboard the Great Trans-Siberian Express, perfect for fans of Piranesi, Babel and The Night Circus - available to preorder now!

'I urge everybody to pick up a copy' STUART TURTON

'Be warned - once you step into The Cautious Traveller's Guide to the Wastelands, you'll never want to disembark' SAMANTHA SHANNON

'Wild and wonderful . . . completely captivating' JENNIFER SAINT

'Mysterious and clever and brilliant' NATASHA PULLEY

It is said there is a price that every passenger must pay. A price beyond the cost of a ticket.

It is the end of the nineteenth century and the world is awash with marvels. But there is nothing so marvellous as the Wastelands: a terrain of terrible miracles that lies between Beijing and Moscow.

Nothing touches the Wastelands except the Great Trans-Siberian Express: an impenetrable train built to carry cargo across continents, but which now transports anyone who dares.

Onto the platform steps a curious cast of characters: Marya, a grieving woman with a borrowed name; Weiwei, a famous child born on the train; and Henry Grey, a disgraced naturalist.

But there are whispers that the train isn't safe. As secrets and stories begin to unravel, the passengers and crew must survive their journey together, even as something uncontrollable seems to be breaking in . . .

Other titles you should consider ...

The Black Bird Oracle

Deborah Harkness

Long Island Compromise

Taffy Brodesser-Akner

The Glassmaker

Tracy Chevalier

This Is Why We Lied

Karin Slaughter

Not all products are available in all stores.