Australian Independent Bookseller

All the best books from your local independent bookseller

The Eye of the Sheep

The Eye of the Sheep

by Sofie Laguna

Winner of the Miles Franklin Literary Award 2015

Format
Paperback
Category
Fiction
Publisher
Allen & Unwin
Publish Date
December 2015

"Ned was beside me, his messages running easily through him, with space between each one, coming through him like water. He was the go-between, going between the animal kingdom and this one. I watched the waves as they rolled and crashed towards us, one after another, never stopping, always changing. I knew what was making them come, I had been there and I would always know." Meet Jimmy Flick. He's not like other kids - he's both too fast and too slow. He sees too much, and too little. Jimmy's mother Paula is the only one who can manage him. She teaches him how to count sheep so that he can fall asleep. She holds him tight enough to stop his cells spinning. It is only Paula who can keep Jimmy out of his father's way. But when Jimmy's world falls apart, he has to navigate the unfathomable world on his own, and make things right. Sofie Laguna's first novel One Foot Wrong received rave reviews, sold all over the world and was longlisted for the Miles Franklin Literary Award and shortlisted for the Prime Minister's Literary Award. In The Eye of the Sheep, her great originality and talent will again amaze and move readers. In the tradition of Room and The Lovely Bones, here is a surprising and brilliant novel from one of our finest writers.

Other titles you should consider ...

The Weekend

Charlotte Wood

The Guardians

John Grisham

Warrior of the Altaii

Robert Jordan

Not all products are available in all stores.