Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Indie Top 10 Bestsellers

1.Girl on the Train, Paula Hawkins (Random House) 
2.The Narrow Road to the Deep North, Richard Flanagan (Random House)
3.We are All Completely Beside Ourselves, Karen Joy Fowler (Profile Books)
4.The Brain's Way of Healing, Norman Doidge (Scribe) 
5.The Rosie Project, Graeme Simsion (Text Publishing)
6.Wild: A Journey from Lost to Found, Cheryl Strayed (Grove Atlantic Ltd)
7.Paul Keating: The Biography, David Day (HarperCollins) 
8.To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee (Random House) 
9.The First Bad Man, Miranda July (Canongate Books) 
10.Plenty More, Yotam Ottolenghi (Random House)  
Source: Nielsen BookScan W/E 14/2

Email Address


6/03/2015 12:09 PM

17/02/2015 5:42 PM

The Indie Book Awards SHORTLIST has been announced.

The shortlist falls into four categories - fiction, non-fiction, debut fiction and children’s and YA books. 

The Indie Book Awards shortlists for 2015 are as follows: 

When the Night Comes by Favel Parrett (Hachette Australia) 
Amnesia by Peter Carey (Penguin Books Australia) 
Golden Boys by Sonya Hartnett (Penguin Books Australia) 
The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion (Text Publishing) 

This House of Grief by Helen Garner (Text Publishing) 
Bush by Don Watson (Penguin Books Australia) 
Where Song Began by Tim Low (Penguin Books Australia) 
Cadence by Emma Ayres (ABC Books, HarperCollins Publishers Australia) 

The 52-Storey Treehouse by Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton (illus)(Pan Macmillan Australia) Pig the Pug by Aaron Blabey (Scholastic Australia) 
Withering-By-Sea by Judith Rossell (ABC Books, HarperCollins Publishers Australia) 
Laurinda by Alice Pung (Black Inc. Publishing) 

Lost & Found by Brooke Davis (Hachette Australia) 
Foreign Soil by Maxine Beneba Clark (Hachette Australia) 
The Strays by Emily Bitto (Affirm Press) 
After Darkness by Christine Piper (Allen & Unwin)

The Indie Book Awards category winners and the Indie Book Awards overall winner for 2015 will be announced at an event in the Sydney CBD on Wednesday 25 March.

For the full press release click HERE

Follow us on facebook and twitter #IndieBookAwards2015

29/01/2015 8:38 AM

The Indie Book Awards 2015

The Indie Book Awards celebrate the best Australian books for a calendar year as chosen by Australian Independent Booksellers, members of Leading Edge Books.

The Shortlist is announced on 29th January 2015. The winners in each of the categories of Fiction, Non-fiction, Children’s & YA and Debut Fiction, as well as the overall ‘Book of the Year’ winner will be announced on the evening of 25 March 2015 in Sydney.

The Indie Book Awards provide multi-layered opportunities for Leading Edge independent booksellers and Australian publishers to support an initiative with significant positive sales and publicity potential. It provides booksellers with an opportunity to promote their point of difference as an Australian Independent Bookseller, who supports Australian authors and publishers and can give informed recommendations and advice to their customers. It also provide local publishers with an opportunity to actively promote sales of both category-based and overall Australian Independent Bookseller ‘Book of the Year’ winner.

Since its inception seven years ago, the Indie Book Awards have chosen Breath by Tim Winton, The Happiest Refugee by Anh Do, Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey, All That I Am by Anna Funder, The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman and most significantly in 2014 The Man Booker prize winning The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan.

29/01/2015 4:37 PM
The Illuminations, Andrew O'Hagan 

How much do we keep from the people we love? Why is the truth so often buried in secrets? Can we learn from the past or must we forget it? Standing one evening at the window of her house by the sea, Anne Quirk sees a rabbit disappearing in the snow. Nobody remembers her now, but this elderly woman was in her youth a pioneer of British documentary photography. Her beloved grandson, Luke, now a captain with the Royal Western Fusiliers, is on a tour of duty in Afghanistan, part of a convoy taking equipment to the electricity plant at Kajaki. Only when Luke returns home to Scotland does Anne's secret story begin to emerge, along with his, and they set out for an old guest house in Blackpool where she once kept a room. 

About the author: Andrew O'Hagan is one of his generation's most exciting chroniclers of contemporary Britain. He has been nominated for the Man Booker Prize and was voted one of Granta's Best of Young British Novelists in 2003. He has won the Los Angeles Times Book Award and the E.M.Forster Award.

All materials © 2009 Australian Independent Book Seller. Powered by Leading Edge Group Limited.
Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions